Rusty Walker Scholarship


Rusty Walker was an iconic programmer and consultant, a valued CRS Board member and esteemed Country Radio Hall of Fame member whose sudden passing in 2012 shocked and saddened the entire Country community.  Among his innumerable contributions to the industry, Walker mentored many of the brightest minds and strongest leaders our format boasts today.
To honor Walker’s belief in cultivating rising stars, CRS has created a scholarship program in his name, enabling young members of our business who may not otherwise have the chance, to attend CRS.
The three honorees are exactly the kind of individuals the Scholarship committee believes Rusty Walker himself would have gravitated toward. Each scholarship includes a full CRS registration, airfare, and hotel room expenses for three nights. Scholars will be recognized at the opening ceremonies during CRS and will have the opportunity to meet and engage with CRS board members during the three-day seminar. 
Each applicant must fill out an online application and submit a paragraph explaining why he/she should be considered as a Rusty Walker Scholar.  Eligible applicants must be a full-time radio station employee and a first time CRS attendee. Three individual scholarships will be awarded.



CRS 2016 
Nick Fox, WVVR; Clarksville, TN
Garrett Searight, WFGF; Lima, OH
Ashley Greninger, KRWQ; Medford, OR
CRS 2015 
Andrea Bogdonas, WFMB; Springfield, IL
Colton Bradford, WKSJ; Mobile, AL
Annie Brooks, KWJJ; Portland, OR
CRS 2014
Alana Lynn, KAWO; Boise, ID
Katelyn Maida, KKBQ; Houston, TX
Nate Chester, KTNN-AM/KWRK-FM; Lupton, AZ
CRS 2013
Jaff Harju, WHKB; Houghton, MI
Cynthia Howard, KMOK-FM; Lewiston, ID
Courtney Smith, WOLF; Syracuse, NY